Katie Wood: Getting to Know Me

Name: Katie Wood

Occupation: I am a freshman without a major, lost in the haze, struggling with this idealized world of me becoming a graduate of the Kenan Flagler Business School. Do I hate the idea of an office high atop a skyscraper off Park Avenue blocks away from the Saks and Bergdorf Goodman of 5th Avenue? Absolutely not. But honestly, I can never see myself crunching numbers all day or running to get my boss coffee from the Starbucks across the street. What I enjoy is writing, but as my dad says, “There is no money in journalism these days!” At the present time, I will stay undecided.

The Fashion Gods Rain Down Upon Thee!

The Fashion Gods Rain Down Upon Thee!

One word to describe my favorite thing about fashion: A fashion anomaly.

Favorite clothing items: I am in love with the American Apparel Deep-V Unisex T-shirt. These shirts come in every color and are great to throw on with jeans and a pair of sandals to go to class in or to pair with a high waisted skirt to go out in. I also am a tad-bit obsessed with jeans. True Religions and Rock and Republics fit me best.

American Apparel Deep-V Tee

American Apparel Deep-V Tee


On my to-buy list: A Kate Spade Union Square style long zip-up wallet in Coral.

Coral color too much? NO WAY

Coral color too much? NO WAY

Favorite magazines: Marie Claire is on the top of my list. Their fashion spreads are always original, but still classy with just enough color to intrigue my love of brights and neons. Marie Claire always includes intelligent articles about current events and worldly issues which, as someone who does not always have time to keep track of daily occurrences, allows me to be informed. I also love Vogue, Cosmopolitan, In-Style, Glamour, Bazaar, Elle, and Allure.

Favorite Designers: Betsy Johnson and Nicole Miller (somewhat opposites I guess?)

Nicole, oh how I love you.

Nicole, oh how I love you.

What I am looking for this coming season: I cannot wait to buy loads of sandals (preferably gladiator style) in black, silver, gold, blue, teal, yellow, etc. Also, I hear ripped jeans are coming back… meaning that old pair of Abercrombie are coming out from the back of my closet! On a recent trip to NYC I ended up coming back with 7 new spring dresses from Free People, Anthropologie and Urban Outfitters. Printed Tops and bold jewelry are also on the top of my list. Summer weather here I come!

Which leads to…

What can you expect in the coming entries of my blog: More crazy rambling by yours truly! But, to give you a better understanding, I will be featuring a new fashion website every week. The websites featured will be lesser known, but incredibly addicting. In all earnestness, I will be a stalker of the web. Included will be sites having to do with celebrities, upcoming trends, shopping deals, other publications, etc. So check every week for a fresh new website to occupy yourself through those tedious, droning ECON or POLI 101 classes we all dread.

xoxo,

Katie Wood

One thought on “Katie Wood: Getting to Know Me

  1. Can’t wait to read more. : ) your occupation paragraph hit home for me, feeling very much the same as you I must say.

Leave a Reply

