Flash Your (Bra) Color on Facebook

Image Source: shutterstock.com

A few nights ago, I flashed the entire internet world. Now, now. Before you assume that I leaked a peek-a-boo picture a la Vanessa Hudgens – don’t be so foolish! I revealed the color of my bra to the entire internet world. But again, before you assume I did so as a routine game with my boyfriend, think again. It was in the name of a good cause.

It started with a girl friend’s status as “Turquoise,” followed soon after with “pink” and a few beiges and blacks. Over the hours, the statuses kept pouring in and my curiousity and confusion only grew larger until a friend of a friend asked WHY girls were posting colors as their statuses. Was there a game TV show on that I was missing? Even males participated with writing “nothing.”

The point of the meme activity? To raise awareness of breast cancer. Though I’m sure it did more than just that. It started with a mass Facebook message that was sent to women, asking them to virtually flash the world to support medical research. The end of the e-mail message even read, “It will be fun to see how long it takes before the men will wonder why all the girls have a color on their status!”

I did it to have fun and go along with the cause, like every other girl out there. But perhaps instead of e-flashing the internet, a few dollars can be spent on Pink products or a few minutes can be spent AWAY from Facebook and on medical research websites to educate ourselves about risks of breast cancer. Go Pink! Or Beige, or Black.

Leave a Reply

