Why Do Discount?

Image Source: boosttwitterfollowers.com

I must admit, I am definitely a label shopper.  Now I know you hear all the time that labels don’t matter, and you shouldn’t buy something just because it’s designer, but I have to disagree.  I feel that designer pieces cost so much for a reason.  They’re made from high-quality fabrics, which means the pieces will last forever.  And from a more artistic standpoint, I really do see clothing as wearable art.  Starting with just a rough sketch, designers have to go through so many steps before their visions can actually become reality, from choosing the right fabric to modifying the hemline and deciding to go with a v-neck instead of a scoop-neck.  So much thought, creativity and effort go into each and every piece of clothing we wear, and it’s sort of mind-boggling to think about.  This may be why I’m a clothing addict, but I really do think about these things every time I buy something.

My true designer obsessions are coats and purses because they are so timeless.  They’re worth the money because they’ll last forever, and they’ll always be in style.  Often I find myself questioning why I bought a cheap top (“do I really need this?”), but I NEVER question my coat or purse purchases because I know I’m definitely going to get my money’s worth.  And even though I am addicted to designer labels, I rarely buy anything at retail price.  I patiently wait for sales at my favorite boutiques, and I have mastered the art of online shopping.  I’ve found some amazing websites that sell discounted designer clothing, and I’ve even bookmarked the websites of my favorite designers to keep a lookout for upcoming sales.

In each of my posts, I hope to show you a new way to find designers on a discount so you can be as excited and satisfied with your designer purchases as I am.  To me, there is nothing better than getting a compliment on something I’m wearing and be able to say that I got it for half-price (or less!).  You get the best of both worlds because you don’t have to sacrifice quality for quantity.  It’s like having your cake and eating it, too!  And, what could be better than that? (especially if  it’s a delicious piece of chocolate cake covered with a rich dark chocolate ganache (YUM!)!…Oh sorry, just another one of my addictions!)

To start your transition to becoming a discount-shopper, check out your favorite designers’ websites and look at their sale pages.  Bookmark their sites, and get in the habit of regularly checking for sales.  This may have been how I turned into a designer clothing addict, but regardless, it really can save you a TON of money!  Good luck and get to shopping!

Leave a Reply

